New Year, New Requirements – Employers Must Now Use the New Form I-9

One of the changes the new year brought was a new version of I-9 Form.  Beginning on January 22, all employers should now use the newly revised version of the new I-9 Form for verifying employment eligibility.  The form may be found at https://www.uscis.gov/i-9

The latest version of the I-9 Form may be filled out on-line (although it still must be printed out, signed and retained).  The electronic version should help with reducing potential errors due to the new drop-down lists and on-line instructions.  The new I-9 Form can also simply be downloaded from the government website, if you would prefer.

As a reminder, employers are required to complete an I-9 Form for all new employees not later than the third business day of their employment.

© 2017 Vandenack Weaver LLC
For more information, Contact Us

Leave a comment